News - March 24, 2016

Sportspersons of the Year receive awards

Koen Guiking

Triathlete Julie von Grünigen was declared sportswoman of the year on Thursday 17 March at the Thymos Sportgala in The Spot. Cyclist Niels van der Pijl was sportsman of the year. Rowers Tessa van Hateren and Nynke Groot Koerkamp won the title of sports team of the year, and archer Marleen Domburg was sports coach of the year.

Henri ten Klooster (rechts) maakt bekend dat Julie von Grünigen (tweede van rechts) sportvouw van het jaar is. Foto: Sven Menschel.

One of the competitions Von Grünigen took part in was the Ironman world championships in Hawaii. The Swiss athlete qualified for that because she was the fastest women under 24 in the Ironman triathlon in Maastricht. Thanks to these achievements she was pronounced Wageningen student sportswoman of the year, beating lacrosse player Julie Peletier, who plays for the national team too, and climber Aniek Lith, who came second in the Dutch lead climbing championship (following a route).

Cyclist Van der Pijl came sixth in the Dutch time trials in 2015. The other nominees were runner Koen Jansen and basketball player Constantinos Patinios.

The rowers Van Hateren and Groot Koerkamp won several student competitions in 2015 in the ladies coxless pair category, and narrowly missed a prize at the European University Rowing Championship in Hannover. Other nominated sports teams were Men’s 1 and Ladies’ 1 from basketball association Sphinx, both of which came out top in the competition, and the men’s relay team from athletics association Tarlétos, which won a prize at the national championships.

- Unfortunately, your cookie settings do not allow videos to be displayed. - check your settings