Student - November 26, 2015

Lots of familiar faces on Teacher longlist

Linda van der Nat

In spite of an appeal from the jury chair not to vote for the usual suspects this time, the longlist of the Teacher of the Year Awards 2016 consists mainly of familiar names. Two big names are conspicuous by their absence, however.

Jury chair Jaco Slingerland appealed to students just before the voting in the annual elections to vote for the ‘rising stars’ among the teachers: people who teach brilliantly but time and again narrowly miss getting on the longlist. But students do not seem to have listened to his appeal. The longlist includes six previous winners and four previous nominees.

But two names are conspicuously absent from the longlist: ex-winners Gert Peek of Soil Science and Huub Savelkoul of Immunology and Cell Biology. This is surprising, as Peek and Savelkoul are certainly top-class: Peek is the only teacher to have won twice (in 2000 and in 2011) and Savelkoul has been nominated so many times that he received a special prize – the ‘Teacher hors classe’ –in 2010.

The complete longlist for 2016: Noelle Aarts, Curtis Barrett, Frits Claassen, Roel Dijksma, Martijn Duineveld, Maria Forlenza, André van Lammeren, Arie Nieuwenhuizen, Bert van ’t Ooster, Jan den Ouden, Stefano Pascucci, Ute Sass-Klaassen, Gosse Schraa, Arie Terlouw, Paul Torfs, Kees van Veluw. LvdN

The full longlist of 2016
André van Lammeren winner 2010
Arie Nieuwenhuizen nominated
Arie Terlouw winner 2007
Bert van 't Ooster
Curtis Barrett
Frits Claassen winner 2012
Gosse Schraa winner 2004
Jan den Ouden winner 2009
Kees van Veluw
Maria Forlenza nominated
Martijn Duineveld
Noelle Aarts winner 2015
Paul Torfs nominated
Roel Dijksma
Stefano Pascucci
Ute Sass-Klaassen nominated

Also view: