News - March 31, 2005

Thesis prize

Xander van Leeuwen and Wiebe Visser have won the management studies thesis award. The prize, a certificate and 200 euros, was presented for the first time last week by the Management Studies group. ‘This year we had a lot of good theses and we thought it was time to show some recognition. It seemed like a good way to encourage students to join our group, and to show that we think their work is very interesting,’ said secretary Janneke van der Sluijs. About sixty theses are written each year by students in the chair group. Supervisors each chose the best thesis from the students they have supervised, and then a jury of four chose the winner out of these. The group plans to award the prize each year in future. / JH