News - November 27, 2014

Ex-winners on Teacher of the Year longlist

Linda van der Nat

The list of teachers in the race to be Teacher of the Year is full of familiar faces. Six of the 16 with a chance of the prize have won it before.

At the beginning of November all students except first-years were invited to nominate their favourite teacher. 1562 students did so: a turnout of 23 percent. A longlist of the 16 teachers with the most votes has been drawn up from the results.

The results, made public this year for the first time, show that students have picked the usual suspects again: Frits Claassen, André van Lammeren, Gert Peek, Huub Savelkoul, Gosse Schraa and Arie Terlouw have all bagged the prize before. Ute Sass-Klaassen and Paul Torfs have been nominated before. The 16 teachers will be visited in the coming weeks by a student jury who will interview them and attend classes. The shortlist will be announced in the week before Christmas. One of the first teachers on this list will end up winning the Teacher of the Year Award. The prize is traditionally bestowed during the student council’s new year drinks party, which will be on 15 January 2015.

All the teachers on the longlist: Noelle Aarts, Yuling Bai, Frits Claas- sen, Julia Diederen, Roel Dijksma, Martijn Duineveld, Maria Forlenza, André van Lammeren, Arie Nieu- wenhuizen, Gert Peek, Ute Sass- Klaassen, Huub Savelkoul, Gosse Schraa, Arie Terlouw, Paul Torfs and Jordi Vila-Guerau de Arellano.