News - February 8, 2017

Candidates announced for teaching award

Vincent Koperdraat

Sixteen lecturers at Wageningen University & Research are in the running for the Teacher of the Year Award 2017. The University Fund Wageningen has announced the longlist.

Hydrogeology lecturer Roel Dijksma won the Teacher of the Year Award last year. Photo Sven Menschel

The University Fund’s Teacher of the Year Award is intended as a source of inspiration and a sign of recognition for teachers. Last November and December, students were able to have their say by picking three lecturers from a list of 250. Eventually, 4718 students — a quarter of all students — took the trouble to choose their favourites. This resulted in the longlist. Those teachers were told they were on the list in the past week.

The jury for the Teacher of the Year Award, consisting of eight students, will now decide which five teachers will be selected for the shortlist. Over the next while, the jury members will be interviewing the 16 candidates, attending their lectures and practicals, and talking to their students.

Students who want to help their favourite can send fun facts and anecdotes to the jury via; they have until the end of February. The jury can use that information when drawing up the shortlist, which will be announced in March.

Teacher of the Year Award Longlist (in alphabetical order)

Noelle Aarts
Harm Batholomeus
John Beijer
Henry van den Brand
Marleen Buizer
Frits Claassen
Fons Debets
Julia Diederen
Jessica Duncan
Maria Forlenza
Marleen Kamperman
Arie Nieuwenhuizen
Jan den Ouden
Gert Peek
Gosse Schraa
Jet Vervoort